From Amsterdam to Singapore: On Board Cuisine [Special Edition Post]

25 Jan

Amsterdam – Dubai

Finally I have the time to start writing about all the good things I ate on my vacation to Singapore and the Philipines. Before we get to all the really good stuff, I’ll begin where the journey began: in the plane. Because I flew with Emirates I had a layover in Dubai, which meant that I had to fly seven hours straight before landing. And in seven hours, you can get pretty hungry. So, when I got my menu (see picture above) I was very curious what laid in store for me. My mother had flown with Emirates last summer and before I left she said that the food was very good for airplane-food. Earlier experiences with airlines like KLM-Air France and Qantas had learned me that airplane-food can be really shitty so I had good hope this time. And I wasn’t disappointed at all. When opening the menu I read the following:

LUNCH

Appetizer: Smoked salmon served with vegetable couscous salad

Main Course: Chicken Breast grilled chicken breast served with a mushroom and leek sauce, accompanied with sauteed potato noodles and vegetables

or

Lamb Rendang Asian style lamb casserole, served with steamed basmati rice and sugar snap peas with red pepper

Dessert: Sticky toffee pudding moist sticky toffee pudding, with a rich toffee sauce

Drinks: Tea or Coffee

Chocolates

So looking at the menu you can say that it looks really good. Maybe even something you could find in a restaurant. As I really like lamb, I choose the lamb rendang. The only thing with airplane-food is that it is food that you get in an airplane. This means it gets served like a microwave meal and you have to eat it while being cramped between two people. But hey, at least it tasted really good, even for airplane food. And it looked like this:

To accompany my very first meal on this journey I decided to take a nice (small) bottle of red wine:

One of the very nice things that Emirates had to offer were these little stickers that you had to stick at your headrest when you were going to sleep. I especially liked the green one:

So there we have the beginning of this culinary journey. No other meals were served on this flight. Although  a selection of beverages were offered before landing. But this didn’t bothered me much because I had another flight coming up…with some more food!

Layover Dubai

Finally being in Dubai, I had to wait for about three hours before my plane to Singapore would leave. Feeling a bit hungry, my brother and I began our search for food. Since everything was extremely expensive (like most airports) we decided to go to the Burger King after seeing a sign. But we didn’t have any luck because the Burger King was closed. However, a bit further we found the biggest rival of the King: McDonald’s. The sad thing was that it was Christmas Eve when we arrived in Dubai, so this was our Christmas dinner. Later on I will make a post about all the delicious things I missed in The Netherlands because I had to travel.

Dubai – Singapore

After a few hours we left again on our way to Singapore. And after about two hours we received once again our menus. As with every Emirates menu it stated above:

Emirates invites you to enjoy its award-winning cuisine, complemented by the finest beverages from a selection of Wines, Spirits, Beers, Liquers & Soft Drinks (everything was complementary except champagne which was 8USD).

That of course is a nice way to start a menu. For this flight our on board meals were a sandwich and breakfast. But that sounds a lot simpler than it was,  this was what the menu said:

SAVOURY SNACK

Cajun Chicken wholemeal panini bread roll filled with Cajun flavored chicken and creamy egg mayonaise

Lemon streusel muffin

Tea or Coffee

INSTANT CUP NOODLES

Available anytime on request

BREAKFAST

Fruit: Fresh seasonal fruit

Main course: Scrambled eggs with chives served with golden fried rosti potato, lamb sausage and a light tomato and chili relish

or

Prawn dumplings steamed dumplings topped with a julienne of vegetables, stir fried egg noodles and rich chopsuey sauce

Croissant served with butter and preserve

Beverages: Tea or Coffee

First of all I got the Cajun Chicken panini which was a bit dry and cold, but it still tasted okay since I was hungry again. The chocolate muffin was really good though. And I’m not really a fan of sweet stuff.

For breakfast I chose once again for the lamb, this time in sausage form. The photo is red because of the on board light and since it was very early they didn’t turn the bright lights on (I didn’t use my flash because my neighbors were sleeping). The egg was a bit disappointing in taste, quite simple and tasteless but the chili relish made this a bit better. I liked my sausages, although baked sausages would have been better, but hey, it’s a plane right?

I can conclude by saying that the food at Emirates is above average in comparison with other airlines. If food would be of such importance that you would choose your airline by it I would definitely recommend Emirates (but then you would also have to take a look at Malaysian Airlines and Singapore Airlines). In all, even the on board food was a good start of my culinary journey. But in Singapore the journey really began…

2 Responses to “From Amsterdam to Singapore: On Board Cuisine [Special Edition Post]”

  1. Kwokmun May 23, 2012 at 05:30 #

    I love a good airline meal. Have you flown Singapore Airlines? It’s my favourite!

    • dudewhatsmyfood May 23, 2012 at 08:02 #

      I have flown with Singapore Airlines and to be honest, it was probably the best airline food that I ever had. I guess that the Singaporean cuisine helps a lot with that too.

Leave a Reply

