Kirin Beer

6 Feb

After we went to the Telok Ayer Market, we went to the bay of Singapore to have a drink. My father told me that beer, and alcohol in general, was relatively expensive compared to The Netherlands. I soon found out he was right. I chose a Kirin Beer which is a Japanese beer. As a matter of fact I can give you some more information about Kirin Beer since I stumbled today by accident on a book about all kinds of beer. So here goes:

Kirin is a Japanese beer that is brewed in Tokyo. It is best served at a temperature of eight degrees Celsius and I am sure I got it at exactly the right temperature. As you cannot see on my picture above, it has a golden color. It is a pilsener and is commonly advised to drink whilst eating typical Japanese food like tempura, sushi or sashimi. Apparently, the Saaz and Hallertau hops are the ones which give the beer it’s distinct flowery and bitter taste. Another fact is that the beer is being matured in cold basements for at least two months before being sold. This process gives the beer its soft and light body and a full taste. I must say that I liked the beer, but I didn’t find it very special. What made it special where two things. Firstly, the price. Secondly, the fact that the waiter came to our table with the beer and a glass, showed the bottle to us, and then poured the beer in the glass. This is something that happens in restaurants in The Netherlands, but even then only with wine. It was something that I hadn’t seen before with beer and I found this interesting.

But to come back to the fact that beer is quite expensive in Singapore, here is a picture of the beer menu at the cafe where I sat on the terrace:

Since I had a Kirin beer, you can see that the beer had cost me 13 Singapore dollars which was about 7,80 Euro. My father chose the most expensive one which was the Suntory Premium Malt which was 17 Singapore dollars (about 10,20 Euro). These ridiculous prices for beer and alcohol where absolutely the most negative points of Singapore. How can you live without a nice cold beer once in a while? Or… how can you not become a bum when you want to drink a nice cold beer once in a while? The only solution is to bring your money with you (preferably a lot)!

4 Responses to “Kirin Beer”

  1. bum February 7, 2012 at 11:42 #

    Doin BlØmkØl??

    • dudewhatsmyfood February 7, 2012 at 12:21 #

      Yes indeed my good sir. The Doin also likes his Kirin once in a while!

  2. Hong Kong Nom Nom February 11, 2012 at 20:52 #

    I had a Kirin beer or three just the other day, went well with my yakitori (not the post you read though)!

    • dudewhatsmyfood February 15, 2012 at 15:14 #

      Sounds like a great combination! I’ll have a look around on your blog again very soon.

Leave a Reply

