Döner Kebab at Dönerland, Amsterdam

21 Sep

After being absent on this blog for over two months, I’m back! The long absence wasn’t really planned, but unfortunately unavoidable. The good thing though is that I did not stop taking pictures of all the great, great food I ate. So, there is a lot to look out for.

But first this absolutely fantastic döner kebab I ate the other week. While visiting my friend N. we didn’t really wanted to cook and he told me he knew a place where they serve great döner kebab: “the best döner kebab of Amsterdam” to be precise;). Although I haven’t eaten enough döner in Amsterdam to really give it that title, I can assure you that it was the best that I have eaten in Amsterdam so far. Although I prefer veal above chicken when eating my döner kebab, N. convinced me to try the chicken. I was not disappointing. Oh what a great döner kebab it was. We settled for the large chicken döner kebab which costed 4 euros 50. This is not an expensive price since you will pay a lot more for a regular kebab at other döner places in Amstedam. Furthermore, what made it worth it were the big döner kebabs that we got which were not only filled properly with meat, but also had a great distribution inside. Don’t you hate it when you get a döner kebab that has all the meat on the bottom of the bun and all the vegetables on top? This döner kebab had both meat and vegetables evenly distributed which meant that you got a bit of both with every bite. Another really nice touch was that you had the sambal sauce and the garlic sauce on the table in a squeeze bottle. For those of you with experience, it means drowning your döner kebab in sauce after every bite!

To complete this simple yet delicious meal, the owners of the place offered us some Turkish tea since we were sitting in the place for our meal:

Yes ladies and gentleman, it was a great eating experience indeed.

10 Responses to “Döner Kebab at Dönerland, Amsterdam”

  1. Emily Rain September 30, 2012 at 04:10 #

    This is a “WOW”

    • dudewhatsmyfood October 17, 2012 at 23:48 #

      Haha thanks. It surely was a ‘WOW’! Can’t wait to get back there.

  2. csamom October 28, 2012 at 18:17 #

    I loved Doner Kebabs in Amsterdam! With a glass of full fat milk and I always felt like a lucky, lucky girl. I preferred lamb as well, but your chicken kebab above looks scrumptious.

  3. Joanna October 30, 2012 at 16:57 #

    When in Berlin you should definitely try Mustafa’s kebab. Apparently the best here.
    More info: http://www.tripadvisor.de/Restaurant_Review-g187323-d1341041-Reviews-Mustafas_Gemuse_Kebab-Berlin.html
    http://www.mustafas.de/

    • dudewhatsmyfood November 7, 2012 at 02:02 #

      I have heard so much good things about Mustafa’s. I’m really eager to go there once.

  4. foodisthebestshitever November 9, 2012 at 04:53 #

    Looks like a train wreck but I want one now!!

  5. Sarah November 15, 2012 at 20:40 #

    Awesome! Ironically, I just made döners at home and am working on the recipe to post on my blog! Thanks for stopping by, and check back soon for that recipe!

  6. lambalund June 13, 2013 at 02:29 #

    tell us the name of the shop

Leave a Reply

